Scott R. Muri Earns National Communications Technology Award

Scott R. Muri.

Spring Branch ISD Superintendent of Schools Scott R. Muri, Ed.D., was named the sole recipient of a high national recognition, the 2017 Communication Technology Award for Superintendents, by a leading group of communications and public relations professionals and a partnering education technology services firm. The National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA), which represents most community relations professionals serving public and charter school systems, and Blackboard, a United States technology and educational services firm, announced its award for innovative technology to Muri in an electronic newsletter published for its association members in February.

The annual Communication Technology Award for Superintendents recognizes an education leader working in a K-12 system or in a closely related function, who is “redefining, upgrading and integrating cutting-edge community technology to improve and expand outreach and engagements with education stakeholders – both internal and external.”

Muri’s winning nomination stated, “From his first week on the job as superintendent of Houston’s Spring Branch ISD, Dr. Scott Muri revealed himself to be a strong, collaborative partner whose creativity and avid belief in technology as a tool to engage and reach stakeholders created excitement among the Community Relations team that communication was going to be a true priority.”

After his official start as new SBISD superintendent in July 2015, Muri began a #VisionLock Twitter campaign to introduce himself to the greater community and leverage the district’s core values as connection points and foundation frame for his leadership, shared focus and reason for joining the school district. Tweeting in both English and Spanish, his near-daily tweets reached more than 9,000 followers.

In addition to the award announcement, Muri will be honored this summer in San Antonio during NSPRA’s annual national meeting, where a special session will be held reflecting on the community technology award.